Oh, Hai!

Drum roll, please! Red carpet, please! Hand clap, please! Ta-daaaaa! Wait! Where’s my paparazzi? Now that I have everyone’s attention, let me tell you a bit about myself, and why I decided to start this blog deal.  I’ll be turning the BIG 40 in a few months.  Yeah, I’m not too excited about it.  Why? Because as each year passes, I get further and further away from my twenties – which, at this point, was the best decade of my life so far! Not only did I look younger, I never battled with having to watch what I ate just to stay fit, which meant I never had any issues with running into a clothing store at the last minute to find a cute little size 4 outfit to wear to my outing that night.  I could stay out and party all night, get home at 4 am, take a shower and get in the bed by 4:30 am, then wake back up at 6 am and get to work by 7 am with NO bags under my eyes!

Nowadays, if I don’t get at least 6-7 hours of sleep each night, I’m a train wreck the next morning! Besides dragging the entire day, it takes much effort for me to focus on anything throughout the day.  I also have to watch everything I pick up and eat because each french fry, potato chip, candy bar and Dr. Pepper I inhale packs on at least 5 lbs! Ridiculous!

There is a brighter side to this “getting old” thingy, though.  See, I brought 3 beautiful children into this world by the time I reached the age of 26 years old, which means now they’re 20, 18 and 13.  My 20-year old just had a son with his long-time girlfriend, so as of September, I’ve been a “Nonnie” – which I absolutely love and enjoy! Not only that, my bonus Son – who is 23 years old – just had a daughter with his girlfriend a few days ago.  That means I’m a Nonnie times 2! I’m smiling while I type this!

I’m also starting to get a clearer outlook on life.  I don’t stress as much as I did when I was younger because I understand things and people better now than I did back then.  Everything’s not a BIG deal to me anymore.  My bad temper that I inherited from both of my parents has calmed down a great deal, which allows me to enjoy life at a better rate these days – not to mention probably adding a few more years to my life.  I don’t have the insecurities I battled with as a child and young adult now.  I’ve learned valuable lessons from past relationships and bad decisions I’ve made.  I’m so much better!

With all that said, I’ve become wiser with age.  I still have a little longer to go in life, so I know I still have a lot to learn. I’m always eager to share some of the lessons I’ve learned with people I encounter – whether it be family, friends, friends of friends, or complete strangers that I just so happen to engage in conversation with.  My favorite? I enjoy a good relationship debate.  You know.  The type of conversations you have with a man that says stuff like, “She needs to understand that I’m a man, and I have needs,” or “Cook? Uh-uh, that’s a woman’s job!” Those conversations usually last a while, if I hear those things come out of a man’s mouth – just ask my male counterparts (haha).

Thank you for taking time to read my thoughts and opinions about certain things on my blog.  There’s always something interesting going on in my life, so I’ll have plenty to talk about.  Please feel free to comment.  Let me know what you think.

 

 

Leave a comment